Barcelona, Bilbao, Cartagena, Castellón de la Plana, Donostia-San Sebastián, Fuenlabrada, Getafe, Getxo, Jerez de la Frontera, Logroño, Málaga, Parla, Sabadell, Santa Coloma de Gramenet, Isla de Tenerife, Tortosa. 

Diverse cities thanks to interculturality

At the moment the RECI is composed of 15 cities and Tenerife Island with its various municipalities. One of the network’s virtues is that we find great diversity among its members: different social, economic, political and migratory dimensions and realities, cities located on the coast, in the inland or on an island. The RECI members are yet united by the commitment to the intercultural focus, which is applied in order to approach the challenges that higher socio-cultural diversity of the population brings along.

Additionally, RECI is linked to the European Network of Intercultural Cities and other national city networks in Italy, Norway or Portugal. In total, over 100 European municipalities have formalized agreements with the Council of Europe to work jointly and advance to the idea of the “intercultural city”.